Society of Engineering Science

52nd Annual Technical Meeting


This wonderful conference has concluded and we thank you for making it a great success.  I hope you made lasting bonds and learning a great deal.  We have posted pictures of our Medalist and their medals and more pictures have been posted as well.  Thank you again for making this such a grand and exciting event.







Welcome, we look forward to having you at the 52nd Annual Technical Meeting  for the Society of Engineering Sciences (SES) at Texas A&M University in College Station,  October 26-28, 2015.

We have already received over 400 abstracts and more are expected. This years’ focus areas include; Mechanobiology, Mechanics of Nanoscale Phenomena, Mechanics of Soft Materials, Mechanics of Fracture and Damage, Engineering Education, Architectured Material and Manufacturing, and Fluid Mechanics.

The Society of Engineering Science (SES) fosters and promotes the exchange of ideas and information among the various disciplines of engineering and the fields of physics, chemistry, mathematics, bioengineering and related scientific and engineering fields. The organization is comprised of scientists, engineers and mathematicians from around the world who recognize that solutions to critical modern problems transcend traditional disciplinary boundaries. SES Conferences are recognized as leading forums for bringing together diverse, interdisciplinary groups of researchers to discuss advances in highly focused symposium.


Mary Boyce

2015 Engineering Science Medalist

Mary C. Boyce is Dean of Engineering and Morris A. and Alma Schapiro Professor at Columbia University’s Fu Foundation School of Engineering and Applied Science. Prior to joining Columbia, Dean Boyce served on the faculty of Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) for over 25 years, leading the Mechanical Engineering Department from 2008 to 2013. Her research focuses on materials and mechanics, particularly in the areas of molecular and nanomechanics of polymers and soft composites, both those that are man-made and those formed naturally. Her leadership in the field of the mechanics of materials has expanded understanding of the interplay between micro-geometry and the inherent physical behavior of a material, which has led to innovative hybrid material designs with novel properties. Models and results from her group have the potential to influence a range of industrial and academic fields from polymer processing to composite material design, tire mechanics, protective armor designs, and transformative meta-material design. She is well known for her collaborative work and leadership in overseeing research teams that bring together faculty from different departments and universities and is the author of more than 150 archival journal publications with her group.






L. Gary Leal

2015 Taylor Medalist

L. Gary Leal is the Warren & Katharine Schlinger Professor of Chemical Engineering at the University of California, Santa Barbara. He is known for his research work in the dynamics of complex fluids.

Leal began his academic career in 1970 as an Assistant Professor in chemical engineering at California Institute of Technology. He became Full Professor in 1978. During 1986-1989, he was Chevron Distinguished Professor of Chemical Engineering. In 1989, Leal joined University of California, Santa Barbara as Professor and Chair in the Department of Chemical Engineering.

Leal’s research covers a wide range of topics in fluid dynamics, including dynamics of complex fluids, such as polymeric liquids, emulsions, polymer blends, and liquid crystalline polymers. He also works on large-scale computer simulation of complex fluid flows. Leal and his coworkers made pioneering contributions to the study of drop deformation under different flow conditions. They have developed a scheme based on a finite difference approximation of the equations of motion, applied on a boundary-fitted orthogonal curvilinear coordinate system, inside and outside the drop.[3][4] Leal has published more than 250 papers on fluid dynamics. He has directed 55 Ph.D. thesis in various topics in fluid dynamics. Several of his students have gone on to become professors at prestigious universities including Howard Stone who is currently at Princeton and Gerald Fuller at Stanford. Leal comes from a long line of researchers that can be traced back from mentor to mentor all the way to Sir Isaac Newton.






Huajian Gao

2015 Prager Medalist

Huajian Gao received his B.S. degree from Xian Jiaotong University of China in 1982, and his M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in Engineering Science from Harvard University in 1984 and 1988, respectively. He served on the faculty of Stanford University between 1988 and 2002, and as Professor and Director at the Max Planck Institute for Metals Research in Germany between 2001 and 2006. He is now Walter H. Annenberg University Professor of Brown University.

Professor Gao has a background in engineering science and applied mechanics. His current research interests are focused on nanomechanics of engineering and biological systems, including mechanical properties and behaviors of bone, gecko, cell, protein, DNA, carbon nanotubes, thin films and nanocrystalline materials. He has more than 25 years of research experience with more than 300 publications

Latest Conference News

The conference was a great success, thanks to everyone's efforts.  Please see the SES 2016 flyer and get yourself ready


Please review Symposium Abstracts under the Symposia section.


Information → Symposia


Abstract Submission is at the top of the page.


Dimitris C. Lagoudas

Senior Associate Dean for Research

Associate Vice Chancellor for Engineering Research

Deputy Agency Director

Alan Needleman

Professor of Materials Science and Engineering


Amine Benzerga

Aerospace Engineering, Texas A&M University Dwight Look College of Engineering

Arun Srinivasa

Mechanical Engineering, Texas A&M University Dwight Look College of Engineering

John Criscione

Biomechanical Engineering, Texas A&M University Dwight Look College of Engineering


Anastasia Muliana

Mechanical Engineering, Texas A&M University Dwight Look College of Engineering


Kristle Comley



Local ORGANIZING Committee

Marvin Adams


Sharath Girimaji


Zach Grasley


Zoya Heidari (Industry)


Ibrahim Karaman


Richard Malak


Jay Walton


Haiyan Wang


David Allen